Didier Guillevic

Contact

Montréal, Québec, Canada
didier@guillevic.net
http://didier.guillevic.net

Expertise

Prior Experiences

Professional Experiences

Government of Canada, Montréal, Canada. 2017-present
Scientist


Idilia Inc., Montréal, Canada. 2002-2017
Machine Learning Expert
Reporting to the Head of Research and Development (R&D)


Locus Dialogue, Montréal, Canada. 2000-2002
Software Engineer - Machine Learning
Reporting to the Research and Development Manager (R&D)


NEC Central Research Labs, Kawasaki, Japan. 1997-2000
Member of the Research Staff
Reporting to the Research and Development Manager (R&D)

  • Pattern Recognition Laboratory.

  • R&D activities for the NEC postal sorting machines shipped worldwide.

  • Design and implementation of software to be deployed in Finland’s postal sorting facilities to handle hundreds of millions of mail pieces per year. Recognition results need to have an extremely low error rate.

  • Responsible for full development cycle of handwritten digits and word recognition modules.

  • U.S.A. patent for a word lexicon reduction system: US Patent 6834121.

  • Tools: Linux, EWS-UX, HP-UX, C++

  • Machine Learning: Neural Networks, Hidden Markov Models.


Xerox Research Center Webster, NY, USA. 1991
Summer Intern
Reporting to the Optical Character Recognition Research and Development Manager (R&D OCR)


ACSIEL, Munich, Germany. 1987-1989
Manager of the German Office
Reporting to the Company's President in Paris, France

  • Acted as a liaison between the French manufacturers of electronic components and their German customers and distributors.

  • Provided assistance to the French companies in establishing their distribution channel in Germany.

  • Assisted the French companies in their business dealings with the German Institute of Norms (DIN).

Education

Ph.D. Computer Science. 1995


M.Sc. Electrical Engineering. 1987

Continuing Education

Deep Learning

Machine Learning - Natural Language Processing

Data Science

Computer Science - Statistics - Data Structures - Algorithms

Learning (Education)

Languages

  • French (mother tongue)

  • English (bilingual)

  • German (fluent, lived 3 years in Germany)

  • Japanese (intermediate, lived 3 years in Japan)

Personal Experiences

  • Work and study in France, Germany, England, Canada, USA and Japan.

  • Sports: running, cycling, dragon boat.